Snowboarder Q&A: Giorgia Rescigno

Giorgia Rescigno - British Snowboard Cross Team (Photograph: Media Wales)

Giorgia Rescigno of the British Snowboard Cross Team (Photograph: Media Wales)

Giorgia Jayne Rescigno is a half-Welsh, half-Italian snowboarder who hopes to represent Great Britain at the next Winter Olympics in South Korea. The 20-year-old, who competes in Snowboard Cross, recently finished 12th at the World University Games in Trentino, and hopes this is the event that will land her a spot on Team GB for Pyeongchang in four years time. Snowed In caught up with the 20-year-old to find out how she got into the sport and how the future is shaping up…

1. How did you get into snowboarding and where did you learn?

I started snowboarding in Verbier when I was eight years old as my sister was doing it. I loved the idea so I gave it a go too!

2. Have you ever skied? 

Yes. I started skiing when I was three years old though, so I can’t really remember the learning process that well. I still love doing some skiing when I have a chance though, it’s just a bit strange going from having my feet together to having them completely free.

3. How long have you been a member of the British Snowboard Cross Team?

I started competing for Great Britain this season (2013-2014), as I previously raced for a regional team in Italy.

4. What are your goals over the next five years? 

My aim is to be the best prepared I can be both physically and on my board. My main goal is to participate in the 2018 Winter Olympics in Snowboard Cross, so I am putting all my effort and passion into that right now over these next four years.

5. And finally, any top tips for people looking to get into snowboarding? 

Don’t be scared and HAVE FUN! All the rest will come, honest.

A massive thank you to Giorgia for the interview – Remember the name as you could very well be seeing her on your TV screens in just four years time at the next Winter Olympics. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

